The Liberation of the Geek

When I was very young, my Dad took me to the store. It was close to Christmas and the air was so cold it made my nose tickle and made me scratch mitten wearing hands across it. I was bundled up in a thick Disney sweater and the iffy heating system in my Dad’s beat up truck wasn’t doing much to keep us warm on the way to the store. Much to my chagrin, we went straight for the freezer section when we got there. As I shifted and did the dance of cold little kids everywhere, my Dad hefted a frozen turkey into the cart and we headed off down another aisle. I knew we already had a turkey at home. I’d seen my mom hoisting it into our fridge and combing through her crusty old recipe books. My Dad picked up a box of stuffing and a can…

View original post 623 more words

