Haphazard observations

Recently I was asked to write down a few words on why I volunteer.  I have struggled with this question for a few weeks as my initial reasons to volunteer were extremely selfish.   I volunteer at two “places”.  One is a committee within my professional body for which I have just announced I am leaving after 6 years.  The other is for “Movies by Burswood”.  For those who don’t know who they are, it is an outdoor cinema where all profit is donated to charity partners.  It’s an extremely interesting concept and if you want to know more, check out their webpage http://www.moviesbyburswood.com/Page/About-Us

Funnily enough I joined both of these in 2007.  I had just finished another gruelling university degree while working full time and was looking for something to do with all that free time I had.

I have always felt that it was important to contribute to…

View original post 535 more words

